Philippe Rogier – Music From The Missae Sex

“-bursting with energy”

Listen & Purchase Here

Album Info

Magnificat, one of the world’s leading vocal ensembles, presents a new collection of premiere recordings of music by Philippe Rogier (c.1561-1596), maestro di capilla at the court of King Philip II of Spain. Two contrasting mass settings, Missa Philippus II Rex Hispaniae and Missa Inclita stirps Jesse, with motets and instrumental works by Rogier and his contemporaries celebrate the 450th anniversary of the composer’s birth.

Magnificat, founded in 1991 by their director, Philip Cave, specializes in the restoration and performance of choral masterpieces of the 16th and 17th centuries. Magnificat’s third album of Rogier highlights the rich variety of his contrapuntal writing in an historically informed performance bursting with vitality and energy. The inclusion of cornetts and sackbuts adds a noble and grandiose character to the performance. Reviewers have commented, “This disc offers consum­mate interpretations of a beautiful selection of Rogier’s polychoral works, and is to be highly recommended” (Early Music) and, “The sound these singers make is exquisite” (The Times).

View Track List

1. Motet: Inclita stirps Jesse (5:17)

Missa Inclita stirps Jesse:
2. Kyrie eleison (5:22)
3. Gloria in excelsis (6:26)
4. Credo in unum Deum (10:44)
5. Sanctus (5:39)
6. Agnus Dei (4:13)
7. Cancion francesca glosada (2:12)

Missa Philippus Secundus Rex Hispaniae:
8. Kyrie eleison (3:30)
9. Gloria in excelsis (5:44)
10. Da pacem, Domine a6 (1:59)
11. Credo in unum Deum (9:11)
12. Ave maris stella (3:58)
13. Sanctus (6:27)
14. Agnus Dei (3:42)

Running time: 74:00 Mins